Instinct:

in·stinctnoun/ˈinstiNG(k)t/

  1. an innate, typically fixed pattern of behavior in animals in response to certain stimuli.

So, I don’t know too much about a lot of things… I couldn’t tell you anything really outside of my own needs. But I do have a special power that no one else has… I’m like one of those crazy people you see on TV that tell you to call them and they can predict your future… But I can’t really predict anything… I just know something is up before it is actually up…

I remember Mom and Dad got home from a mini-vacation down south, when they took the demon-dog, Ruby, to visit Mom’s family for Egg Day. No issues here, that means I get Ruby out of my hair (and actually out of every other part of my body) and a lot of visits from Grandma and Grandpa – pretty much that means more snuggles and treats for me!

Well they got home and Mom didn’t seem right… So she was going to bed earlier… and earlier… and she started waking up randomly throughout the night because she was sick.

I knew… but I didn’t know… she needed extra guard throughout the night. It was then, I stopped sleeping by Dad’s feet, and moved to the side of the bed, resting my head on Mom’s tummy… She thought it was because I knew her stomach was upset, but I knew there wasn’t anything upset about it at all… I knew something was happening inside Mom that wasn’t “normal”.

This continued throughout the days and weeks ahead as the weather changed… Wherever Mom goes, I go… simple as that. Dad couldn’t understand it at first, but he caught on when he asked Mom to go take some test. Like ok dude, she’s have a rough start to April already, now you want to give her a test – CMON MAN!

After taking the test, Mom and Dad were jumping up and down and … it seemed to be in some what of a panic. I don’t know about you, but I never got that happy for someone else passing a test – but ya, good for them!

Ruby would wonder around for that next month, asking questions and trying to be all puppy and stuff, until I had to sit her down and explain… in a few short months, life was going to change… EVERYTHING was going to change… and she will no longer be the focus of the conversation

Theo’s Thought Day 20: Something is Up

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *