“Whoever said that diamonds are a girl’s best friend… never owned a dog” – Author Unknown

I held by Mom’s side for 6 months when she was keeping Baby Chaos inside of her. I didn’t know much, but I did hear her and Dad going to the doctor a lot and they were talking about a growth inside the swimming pool Mom was keeping the baby in…

All that meant, was extra work for me – stay put (easy), don’t let anyone mess with Mom (easier), be there with Mom (and Dad) as they endulged in a lot of food (easiest thing to do… and by far an extra bonus involved)!

About a month before the little demon came, Mom wasn’t able to work and Dad took over 3 different jobs… He was tired… Mom was tired… Lenny, well he’s always tired – but Ruby, she was still a little pain in the butt puppy who couldn’t figure out her head from her… well you know!

I remember the day/night before Mom and Dad left to go get my little sister out of Mom… Dad was so frustrated, he identified as Karen that day, calling the hospital every couple hours – asking to talk to the head nurse or someone in charge – it lasted 12 hours – personally I thought he was just hangry.

Around 10:30pm (supposed to get in the room by 6), Dad went and picked us up some TacoBell! He got home and just as Mom took a bite of her quesadilla, Dad’s phone rang… I guess they were too excited, because Mom left her food right on the table – BONUS!!! That quesadilla lived about 4 seconds after they left the house.

About 2 days later, I was given my most important job title – “Paisley’s brother” – she came out a bit smaller than the tiny-humans I met before, so that meant I had to be extra careful. I kept my distance for the most part, but I never let her out of my sight.

I wouldn’t even let Dad close her door when they put her down for bed. She goes in that basket thing, I’m by the feet of the furniture – enjoying her brand new carpeted room… There was even one night Dad tripped over me – knocking his chin on her dresser – he didn’t seem to upset with me and honestly, he couldn’t be mad – I was on duty… and I wasn’t sure he was an intruder – not my fault my incognito skills are above par?!

Paisley is about 16 months old now and a lot has happened since she came into this world – but there’s one thing for sure, we’ve all been blessed to have her in our life – even when she’s laying on my head or slapping my eye balls as if I were one of her 2342 stuffed animals…

Like I said, she gave me my most important job… I was no longer Theo the Bulldog… I became Theo the protector… Theo the Big Brother… I became Theo, Dog of Paisley Ryan! … and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Theo’s Thought Day 27: Hurricane Paisley

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *