“I never tell my age because I hope I’ll always be the new kid on the block” – Patrick Kelly

I can’t remember a whole lot before my new family took me in, but I can tell you I brought my own pedestal to stand on coming into this home full of people.

My new mom and dad thought they were something else, using actual words and bragging about the fact they actually had thumbs – but boy was it weird meeting my 2 brothers Maxwell and Lenny.

I don’t think my new brothers (Maltese-Yorkie-Shitzhu brothers from the same litter), understood what they were in for, but I can tell you they were not so welcoming from the start.

Lenny would growl at me when I tried sitting by him, raising mustache and showing off his 3 teeth (the only teeth that he had left). Max, well Max didn’t want anything to do with me. I went left, he went right… I went on the couch, he came down.

It took a few months, but we were finally getting the hang of it. Max began becoming more and more upset during the winter of 2020-2021, and even Mom and Dad were punishing him for the way he would treat me.

But then the cuddles started, sure the king-sized bed was perfect for my 83 pounds of dead weight to snuggle with Daddy, Mom on the other side, and Max and Lenny had to find their nesting place on a pillow. But then, out of no where, Max began snuggling up by me at night. He did this around Thanksgiving and I remember it because our world was going through a global pandemic!

Just as I was getting used to Max and he was getting used to me, Max had a bad stomach ache that January, and he went to the doctor with Mom and Dad late at night.

They came home very upset, only holding Max’s collar.

Looking at Lenny, I didn’t know how to help him either. Max and Lenny were like salt-n-pepper! They were 2 opposites, but they traveled all their lives together.

There was only one thing I had left to do, and that was be there for Lenny. Since then, where ever he goes, I go (unless it’s for a run… I don’t run).

Theo’s Thought #2

6 thoughts on “Theo’s Thought #2

  • March 2, 2023 at 9:08 pm
    Permalink

    Oh, I just love this piece! You capture the voice so well. (I was thinking ‘foster child’ until the thumbs remark, ha ha!) My favorite line is’ I came on the couch, he went down.’ So true!
    My sympathies on Max <3

    Reply
  • March 2, 2023 at 9:10 pm
    Permalink

    I love the voice in this….you may have really captured the inner thoughts of this compassionate being.

    Reply
  • March 2, 2023 at 9:18 pm
    Permalink

    We need to get our Bullies together!

    Reply
    • March 3, 2023 at 5:50 pm
      Permalink

      Well if it’s up to Theo, they will definitely be “together”

      Reply
  • March 2, 2023 at 9:25 pm
    Permalink

    Dan this is sweet and touching. Brilliant typing by your ghostwriter with no thumbs as well! But seriously, what a clever and even humorous way to deal with something so sad. Hope it brought even just a little catharsis.

    Reply
  • March 3, 2023 at 5:15 pm
    Permalink

    Awwww… no one prepares you (or your dog) for the loss of a pet. I love that Lenny and Theo bonded over Max’s absence though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *